|Host||klamath County Museum|
|Location||Klamath County Museum|
|Date||May 05, 2018|
|Time||09:00 am - 01:00 pm|
Tour to explore Algoma Lumber Co. sites
KLAMATH FALLS, Ore. – Historic sites connected with the Algoma Lumber Co. in Klamath County will be explored in a tour being offered Saturday, May 5.
“The highlights of this tour will be the sawmill site north of Klamath Falls, the incline railroad location on Naylox Mountain, and the old trestle on the back side of the mountain,” said Klamath County Museum manager Todd Kepple.
The car-caravan tour is sponsored by the museum and the Shaw Historical Library. Tour leaders will be Kepple and Ron Hathaway.
Preregistration is required by contacting the museum at (541) 882-1000, or email@example.com. Space will be limited to 10 vehicles.
Participants will be required to provide their own transportation on the tour, or carpool with others in the group. The half-day tour will be over paved and gravel roads. No off-road travel is expected.
Algoma Lumber Co. began operations on the east side of Upper Klamath Lake in 1912. Running with two shifts per day, the mill could produce 200,000 board feet of lumber per day.
The company logged timber at various sites around Upper Klamath Lake. Logs were either rafted across the lake, or lowered to the mill site on an incline railroad that ran straight down a steep hillside.
The mill closed in 1943, though numerous traces of the operation can still be seen on the land to this day.
Our Heritage Partners: Klamath County Historical Society – Klamath County Museum Foundation